Question: Does Turning Off IMessage Delete Messages?

Should I turn iMessage off or on?

Use with Androids: If you move from iPhone to Android devices, make sure to turn off iMessage.

If you don’t, iMessages from iPhones won’t make it to your new Android phone..

What is the difference between a text message and a SMS message?

SMS stands for Short Message Service and is the most widely used type of text messaging. With a SMS, you can send a message of up to 160 characters to another device. … MMS stands for Multimedia Messaging Service. With a MMS, you can send a message including pictures, video or audio content to another device.

How do you tell if you’re blocked on iMessage?

If you get a notification like “Message Not Delivered” or you get no notification at all, that’s a sign of a potential block. Next, you could try calling the person. If the call goes right to voicemail or rings once (or a half ring) then goes to voicemail, that’s further evidence you may have been blocked.

What happens when you report junk on iMessage accidentally?

Messages will forward the sender’s information and the message to Apple, as well as delete the message from your device.” All the messages I deleted were from those that are in my Contacts. So, according to this person, the sender’s information and the message are both sent to Apple.

What is the benefit of iMessage?

Benefits Of Using iMessage iMessage is faster than SMS or MMS: SMS and MMS messages are sent using different technology than your iPhone uses to connect to the internet. You can send photos and other large files a lot faster using iMessage than you can using MMS messages.

What does turning iMessage off do?

Turning Off iMessage Turning off the iMessage slider on your iPhone will stop iMessages from being delivered to your iPhone. … Therefore, when other iPhone users send a message to you, it is sent as an iMessage to your Apple ID. But, since the slider is turned off, the message is not delivered to your iPhone.

Does deleting iMessage delete on all devices?

Messages in iCloud are updated automatically, so you always have the same view everywhere you use iMessage. When you delete a message, photo, or conversation on one device, it’s removed from all of your devices.

What happens if I turn off iMessage on iCloud?

“By disabling Messages in iCloud, your Messages data will be downloaded to your device and will no longer sync to iCloud,” reads Apple’s description of the feature. With sync off, your messages will be included in a separate iCloud backup.

What is the difference between iMessage and text message?

Summary. Texting and iMessages are both common ways of sending messages over phones, tablets, and other devices. Text messages require a cell phone plan, while iMessages use data or WiFi. iMessages can only be written and sent on an Apple device, but they can be sent to any brand of device.

Why am I still receiving texts from a blocked number Iphone?

If an iMessage, did you block the number, or the Apple ID. If you just added the number, then it may be coming from the Apple ID. If you blocked the contact, make sure it includes the number and caller ID. Apple ID would work for iMessage.

How do I temporarily turn off text messages on my iPhone?

Tap the “Settings” app, and then select the “Messages” option.Set the “Send as SMS” toggle switch to the “Off” position.Set the MMS Messaging and Group Messaging options in the SMS/MMS section to the “Off” position.Tap the “Settings” button to return to the main Settings screen.More items…

Open Settings on your other iOS devices.Tap Messages.Tap Send & Receive.Tap the newly added email address in order to uncheck and deactivate it for iMessage on that device.Repeat as many times as necessary on all of the devices that are not your shared iPad.

Can I turn off iMessages for one person?

iMessage is a single setting that can be toggled on or off. But if you’d like to send Text Messages to a single contact, you have a couple options. Disable iMessage when messaging your contact, then re-enable it when your conversation is over or you’d like to use iMessage again.

Can you block an iMessage?

You can block text messages on your iPhone from any number that you don’t want sending you messages. Blocked numbers will still be able to text you on their end, but you won’t receive their messages or calls.

How do you delete iMessages on both sides?

Swipe left to delete an entire conversation in the Messages app. … Tap and hold on an individual message to get additional options. … You can permanently remove any number of messages from a conversation. … If you don’t want to keep your messages forever, Settings can automatically remove them after a month or a year.

How do you get rid of iMessage on both sides?

Delete Text Messages, iMessages, & Conversations from iPhoneOpen the Messages app and tap the “Edit” button in the corner.Locate the SMS thread you want to remove and tap the little red (-) button, then tap the “Delete” button to remove all messages and correspondence with that person.Repeat as necessary for other contacts.

Will blocking a number Stop Imessages?

But nowadays you can block someone from sending you an iMessage (or even making a call or sending a text). Blocking someone on your iPhone effectively blocks them from even being able to call you or text you (regular SMS/MMS).

How do I force text message instead of iMessage?

Open the Settings application by tapping the “Settings” icon on your iPhone’s home screen.Tap the “Messages” row to open the Messages screen.Tap the switch next to “iMessage” so that it reads “Off.” Your iPhone will now send all messages in text message format instead of using the iMessage service.

Why is someone not receiving my iMessages?

Reset iMessage To reset the iMessage connection, Go to Settings -> Messages -> Send & Receive and uncheck the email addresses in the “You Can be Reached by iMessage at” section. Then, tap your Apple ID at the top of the screen and select Sign Out. Go back one screen and turn off the slider for iMessage.

Will I lose my messages if I turn off iMessage?

If they have never switched it on, your message will go through as text. … If they move devices (Android), it will continue to try send as iMessage (or fall back to text, as per above) until the person removes themselves from the iMessage service (Apple has a service that you can use to remove yourself from iMessage).

Can someone delete iMessages off your phone?

The only way someone could have deleted your messages is if they had access to your phone.